EN   |   DE


TRX4 Chassis

Probably the most tuning work is done in the chassis area. The offer in the aftermarket is almost endless, whether it is stainless steel screws or anodized gearbox or portal housing, you can beautify or improve almost everything. The TRX-4 is "bought and unpacked" certainly one of the best you can buy at the moment, but for real crawler fans that is not enough to make the vehicle optimally controllable.

TRX4 Shocks

Ringe The original shocks that Traxxas includes with the TRX-4 are currently not really improveable in the aftermarket. They are very sensitive and do their job almost perfectly. But of course you can still improve the response behavior. With a few small tuning rings that are screwed into the damper housing, you can make the damper even more sensitive, the breakaway torque is significantly lighter and the dampers respond much faster. Small costs with great effect, what more could you want. Also, you can still change the response with different oils.

Ringe 100, 200 or 300 cst damper oil changes this already strongly. 100 oil has the thinnest viscosity and is almost like water. If the vehicle is already very heavy due to weight tuning, however, the 100 oil is not recommended. The TRX-4 is originally delivered with 350 oil.

to top

Shock springs

Since some would like to make adjustments to the chassis or even have to, here is an overview of the shock absorber wheels and the associated marking at Traxxas.

 
  color  
Rate Traxxas No.
The higher the rate value, the harder the spring.
yellow 0,22 8042
white 0,30 8043
orange 0,39 8044
without/grey 0,45 8041
green 0,54 8040
blue 0,61 8045
Please use device in landscape format!

The vehicles are delivered with the following springs:
8041 - Defender v, Bronco v+h, Tactical v, Kit v+h, Blazer v+h, G500 v+h, G63 v
8040 - Defender h, Tactical h
8043 - Sport v+h, Sport Kit v, G63 h
8044 - Sport Kit h

to top

TRX4 X-links

Links Traxxas The chassis left the steel rods that are at the bottom of the vehicle. The original weight of these rods is xxx - xxx grams. To get the TRX-4 heavier this is one of the best points.
No mass that wants to be moved by a servo with extreme extra effort and also no flywheel mass that the engine has to drive while driving. The links are low down on the chassis and keep the car on the ground on inclines or slopes. Brass links here are the way to increase the weight to 250 - 270 grams.

Links RC-HP Attention the links are different for the vehicles (wheelbase). If these links are ordered so be sure to check which TRX-4 should be tuned. The Defender and the Tactical need a set for 324mm wheelbase, the Bronco, Blazer, Kit and the Sport the for 312mm wheelbase. Also, grub screws must be ordered to connect the brass links with the original ball heads (rod ends).

Edelstahl1 RC-HP In addition to the brass links, there are now also some made of stainless steel. These are probably a little lighter than their brass counterparts (the specific weight of stainless steel is slightly below that of brass), but purely visually, these make something really. Here, too, the main links were turned to 8mm in diameter and the ends run positively conical to the rodends. The Panhard and the link of the servo are a bit thinner.
After assembly there are no gaps here, this is how modeling should be.
Edelstahl2 RC-HP A special eye-catcher is the steering rod, it is not only beautifully crafted, you can also purchase it separately to significantly brighten up the front of your vehicle.
The links are highly polished and the threads were, as it makes sense with stainless steel, directly turned on. The dimensional accuracy is really extremely good with 1/10 millimeter.
The price is slightly higher than those made of brass, but this is absolutely justified in view of the material and the workmanship. Who is looking for something special for his little one, here it is!

The links are available, as well as those made of brass for the different vehicles:
For the TRX4 Defender, Bronco 2021 and Tactical with 324mm and 264 grams there are them here, the Bronco, Blazer Sport, Kit and Sportkit with 312mm and 246 grams here and the TRX6, which has yes 3 axles with 368 grams here. To this are then 15 grams for the handlebars which can be purchased separately in stainless steel here and in brass / steel hard chrome plated here.

nach oben

TRX4 Portal housings

Portal The portals are small deflection gears that allow the vehicle to significantly increase ground clearance. The drive shafts are deflected again and the TRX-4 comes to an increase in ground clearance of 25mm. The housings are plastic from the factory. But even here there are remedies in the aftermarket. Housings made of aluminum, they are a bit heavier than the original plastic ones, or made of brass. Here one can exchange e.g. the portal cover on the wheel side which brings up to 200 grams and more per axle at weight, thus altogether about 400 grams at the vehicle. Of course, you can also replace the inner portal housing front and rear, as well as the entire steering against brass.

Portal2 Portal3 Portal4

If you plan to replace your original portal housing with a brass one, please replace the steering servo in advance with a more powerful one, like the HD-Power, the Xpert Servo WR4401 / WR7701 or similar. The Traxxasservo will not withstand this extra load for long.

to top

TRX4 Chassis other

Kardanwelle Axle weights offer a further means of making the vehicle heavier in the floor area. These are bolted between the portal housing and the wheel carrier. The weight increase is partially adjustable. Here you should consult with your dealer. When working with axle weights, the weight difference for the steering servo should not be ignored. The steering point may be pushed very far outwards, sometimes the track width changes considerably which can lead to problems with the body or the steering.
The cardan shafts can also be replaced. Traxxas has installed plastic shafts here, these can be replaced with steel ones. Of course, you can also change many other things on the original TRX-4 chassis. For almost all components there are alternatives made of aluminum or even carbon (battery holder). The possibilities are almost inexhaustible, but so is the hole in your wallet. What certainly makes sense is an underride protection on the differential and transmission. The two places suffer very much in stony terrain, these are available in stainless steel and aluminum.
Whether now gearbox housing made of aluminum really helps the vehicle to better driving characteristics is certainly debatable, but colorful anodized components look fantastic.

to top



TRX4-GALLERY

Galerie

OUR  PARTNER

RC-HP

OUR  PARTNER

Speedshop 24

OUR  PARTNER

Modellbau Berlinski

ALT-FOAMS

Arrowmax

DINGSIGN

Dingsign - License Plates

TRX4-VIDEOS

Videos

Logo
Logo

ARROWMAX

Arrowmax

SCALEMAN

Scaleman

GMADE-BOM

Gmade BOM

TRX4 Fahrwerk

Im Bereich Fahrwerk werden wohl die meisten Tuningarbeiten unternommen. Das Angebot im Zubehörmarkt ist schier unendlich, ob es sich um Edelstahlschrauben oder eloxierte Getriebe,-oder Portalgehäuse handelt, verschönern oder verbessern kann man fast alles. Der TRX-4 ist "gekauft und ausgepackt" bestimmt schon einer der Besten die man im Moment kaufen kann, für echte Crawler Fans reicht das aber noch lange nicht aus um das Fahrzeug optimal beherrschbar zu machen.

TRX4 Dämpfer

Ringe Die originalen Dämpfer die Traxxas dem TRX-4 beilegt sind im Zubehörmarkt aktuell nicht wirklich zu verbessern. Sie sind sehr feinfühlig und verrichten ihren Dienst fast perfekt. Aber natürlich kann man auch hier das Ansprechverhalten noch verbessern. Mit ein paar kleinen Tuning Ringen die ins Dämpfergehäuse geschraubt werden kann man den Dämpfer noch feinfühliger machen, das Losbrechmoment wird deutlich leichter und die Dämpfer sprechen wesentlich schneller an. Kleine Kosten mit grossem Effekt, was will man mehr. Auch kann man noch das Ansprechverhalten mit verschiedenen Ölen verändern.

Ringe 100er, 200er oder 300er cst Dämpferöl verändert diesen schon stark. 100er Öl hat hier die dünnste Viskosität und ist fast wie Wasser. Sollte das Fahrzeug durch Gewichtstuning schon sehr schwer sein ist allerdings vom 100er Öl abzuraten. Original wird der TRX-4 mit 350er ausgeliefert.

nach oben

TRX4 Links

Links Traxxas Die Fahrwerklinks die Stahlstangen die unten am Fahrzeug sind. Das original Gewicht dieser Stangen liegt bei xxx - xxx Gramm. Um den TRX-4 schwerer zubekommen ist das einer der besten Punkte.
Keine Masse die von einem Servo mit extremen Mehraufwand bewegt werden will und auch keine Schwungmasse die der Motor beim Fahren antreiben muss. Die Links sind tief unten am Chassis und halten das Fahrzeug in der Steigung oder am Hang am Boden. Messinglinks sind hier die Möglichkeit das Gewicht auf 250 - 270 Gramm zu erhöhen.

Links RC-HP Achtung die Links sind für die Fahrzeuge unterschiedlich (Radstand). Wenn diese Links bestellt werden also unbedingt darauf achten welcher TRX-4 getunt werden soll. Der Defender und der Tactical benötigen ein Set für 324mm Radstand, der Bronco, Blazer, Kit und der Sport den für 312mm Radstand. Auch müssen noch Madenschrauben mitbestellt werden um die Messinglinks mit dem originalen Kugelköpfen (Rod Ends) zu verbinden.

Edelstahl1 RC-HP Ausser den Messinglinks gibt es mitlerweile auch welche aus Edelstahl. Diese sind wohl etwas leichter wie ihre Pendanten aus Messing (das spezifische Gewicht von Edelstahl liegt etwas unter dem von Messing), aber rein optisch machen diese schon richtig etwas her.
Auch hier wurden die Hauptlinks im Durchmesser auf 8mm gedreht und die Enden laufen formschlüssig konisch auf die Rodends zu. Der Panhard und der Link vom Servo entsprechend etwas dünner. Nach der Montage gibt es hier keinerlei Spalte, so sollte Modellbau sein.
Edelstahl2 RC-HP Ein besonderer Blickfang ist die Lenkstange, sie ist nicht nur wunderschön gearbeitet, man kann sie auch einzeln erwerben um sein Fahrzeug vorne deutlich aufzuhübschen.
Die Links sind hochglanz poliert und die Gewinde wurden, da es bei Edelstahl Sinn macht, direkt mit angedreht. Die Maßhaltigkeit ist mit 1/10 Millimeter wirklich extrem gut.
Der Preis liegt etwas über denen aus Messing, was aber angesicht des Materials und der Verarbeitung, absolut gerechtfertigt ist. Wer etwas besonderes für seinen Kleinen sucht, hier ist es!

Die Links gibt es, wie auch jene aus Messing für die unterschiedlichen Fahrzeuge:
Für den TRX4 Defender und Tactical mit 324mm und 264 Gramm gibt es sie hier, den Bronco, Blazer Sport, Kit und Sportkit mit 312mm und 246 Gramm hier und den TRX6, der ja 3 Achsen hat mit 368 Gramm hier. Hierzu kommen dann noch 15 Gramm für die Lenkstange die man extra erwerben kann aus Edelstahl hier und in Messing/Stahl hart verchromt hier.

nach oben

TRX4 Portalgehäuse

Portal Die Portalgehäuse sind kleine Umlenkgetriebe die es dem Fahrzeug ermöglichen die Bodenfreiheit deutlich zu erhöhen. Die Antriebswellen werden noch einmal umgelenkt und der TRX-4 kommt auf eine Erhöhung der Bodenfreiheit von 25mm. Die Gehäuse sind von Werk aus Kunststoff. Aber auch hier gibt es im Zubehörmarkt Abhilfe. Gehäuse aus Aluminium, sie sind etwas schwerer wie die originalen aus Kunststoff, oder aber Messinggehäuse. Hier kann man die Deckel auf der Radseite austauschen was etwa 50 Gramm pro Achsseite an Gewicht bringt, also insgesamt 200 Gramm am Fahrzeug.

Wer vor hat seine originalen Portalgehäuse gegen welche aus Messing zu tauschen sollte bitte den Lenkservo im Vorfeld durch einen Leistungsstarken, wie etwas den HD-Power, den Xpert Servo WR4401 / WR7701 oder ähnliche ersetzen. Der Traxxasservo wird diese Mehrbelastung nicht lange verkraften.

nach oben

TRX4 Fahrwerk Sonstiges

Kardanwelle Achsgewichte bieten ein weiteres Mittel um das Fahrzeug im Bodenbereich schwerer zu machen. Diese werden zwischen Portalgehäuse und Radmitnehmer verschraubt. Die Gewichtszunahme ist teilweise einstellbar. Hier sollte man mit seinem Händler Rücksprache halten. Wenn mit Achsgewichten gearbeitet wird sollte man den Gewichtsunterschied für den Lenkservo nicht ausser acht lassen. Der Lenkpunkt wird hier unterumständen sehr weit nach aussen geschoben, teilweise verändert sich die Spurbreite erheblich was zu Schwierigkeiten am der Karosse oder der Lenkung führen kann.
Auch die Kardanwellen lassen sich austauschen. Traxxas hat hier Kunststoffwellen verbaut, diese sind durch welche aus Stahl ersetzbar.
Natürlich kann man auch viele andere Dinge an dem originalen TRX-4 Chassis verändern. Für nahezu alle Bauteile gibt es Alternativen aus Aluminium oder sogar aus Carbon (Akkuhalterung). Die Möglichkeiten sind hier fast unerschöpflich, dass Loch im Geldbeutel jedoch auch. Was bestimmt Sinn macht sind ein Unterfahrschutz am Differenzial und Getriebe. Die beiden Stellen leiden sehr stark im steinigen Gelände, diese gibt es aus Edelstahl und Aluminium.
Ob nun Getriebegehäuse aus Aluminium wirklich das Fahrzeug zu besseren Fahreigenschaften verhilft ist bestimmt diskutierbar, aber bunt eloxierte Bauteile sehen fantastisch aus.

nach oben



UNSER  PARTNER

RC-HP

TRX4-GALERIE

Galerie

DINGSIGN

Dingsign - License Plates

GMADE-BOM

BOM

Logo
Logo